Follow

What does ‘Multi Entity’ & ‘Single Entity’ mean?

Symptoms:

  • I want to buy an Asset and I have been given two license purchase options.

  • I want to know what a ‘Multi Entity’ license covers.

  • I want to know what a ‘Single Entity’ license covers.

Cause:

Upon purchase of an Asset which isn’t in the category of ‘Extension Asset’, you will be given two purchase options upon checkout. ‘Multi-Entity’ & ‘Single-Entity’.

You may wish to use an Asset among a team of people.

Resolution:

Providing the Asset you’re purchasing does not fall into the licensing category of ‘Extension Asset’, you will be given two purchase options depending on which license you need. 

‘Single Entity’ - If an Asset is not categorized as “Editor Extension”, “Scripting”, or “Services” and the END-USER purchaser of the license is a company or other business, then it can be shared with any employee within that company or business. This option is typically for a single user or single company. 

‘Multi Entity’ - This covers parent, child, and sister companies, as well as contractors on a Project. Multiple people will use and have access to the Asset files.

If an Asset is categorized as an ‘Extension Asset’ or 'Seat', under the ‘license’ section on the Asset’s description page, one seat (copy) will need to be purchased for each person that will use or have access to the Asset. 

In these cases, the ‘Multi Entity’ option is not available. 

More information:

What does 'Extension Asset one license per seat' mean?

How do I transfer an Asset from one account to another?

How do I download an Asset I've purchased?

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

2 Comments

  • 2
    Avatar
    Jason H

    This information directly conflicts with the statement on the license option. It says "Sinlge Entity - Recommended for individuals and small businesses". The "more info" says that contractors require a separate license, but not other employees. Then, this article says, "only one user will have access to the Asset files". Which is it?

    I purchased assets before this terms change, and you seem to have retroactively updated everything. I would never have purchased assets if the terms were 1 user only. You can't simply change the terms for previous purchases.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Robert Knox

    Yeah, I've got assets that I purchased when they were Single Entity, however now they've been changed to Single User.

    I assume the terms that I have access to the asset with are the terms when I made the purchase? Changing them afterwards to require more payments for more people within the company is horrendous business practice.

Please sign in to leave a comment.