Follow

How do I use the Unity Live Help virtual workspace?

Jump into your virtual workspace  

This article covers all of the core features of the Unity Live Help virtual workspace, to help you become familiar with how to use it to collaborate with your customers. You use the Unity Live Help virtual workspace whenever you match with a customer.

Starting a session

image27.png

When you match with a customer on the Unity Live Help platform, Unity Live Help displays a welcome screen, where you can test and adjust your webcam and microphone. Click the Start Session to enter the virtual workspace.

Your virtual workspace

Once you’ve both clicked Start Session you enter a shared virtual workspace. Here, you can chat via text or audio, share your screens, collaborate on a shared code editor, add any attachments, and screen share your screen to review projects.

image12.jpg

Pause and resume feature

At any point during the session you can pause your session with your customer. This stops the timer so that they are not charged while your session is paused.

Visual code editor

In your virtual workspace, there is a shared code editor. You can ask your customer to post snippets of code from your project within this space, so you can both review and collaborate together. You can create multiple tabs within the editor as needed if you are working with multiple code snippets.

Video and voice chat

When you start your first session, Unity Live Help prompts you to turn on your webcam and microphone. This is how you communicate with your customer during the course of your session. At the bottom of your workspace you can simply press the camera icon to toggle your video and the microphone button to toggle your microphone.

Text chat

You can also use the text chat on the right-hand side of your virtual workspace to chat with your customer, if you need to. Click the Pencil icon to send messages to your customer. Feel free to use any combination of text and audio chat as needed.

Attaching images and files

You and your customer can attach images and files to your messages. To add an attachment, click the Upload icon in your messenger to add attachments. Encourage your customer to use this feature to send helpful screenshots of the problem they’re trying to resolve, such as bug reports.

Screen sharing

image20.png

You and your customer can share your screen with each other. It might be helpful for your customer to share their screen, so that you can see their project in the Unity Editor. To share your screen, click the Screen icon at the bottom right of your virtual workspace.

Screen sharing set up and use

Setting up screen sharing

We recommend you use Google Chrome browser when using the service. You can add an extension to your browser to share your screen. Follow these steps to add the extension while in a session:

  • Click on the Screen icon at the bottom-right of your virtual workspace.
  • Unity Live Help displays an Add Screen Share Extension pop-up.
  • Click Open Webstore and follow the web store page instructions to add the extension.
  • After you add the extension, return to the Unity Live Help tab and click Extension Added.
  • Click the Screen Icon again to start sharing.

image15.png

Using screen sharing

Your time spent in the session is displayed at the top panel of your virtual workspace. As a reminder, all customers are provided a 5-minute grace period for all sessions on the platform.

When the grace period finishes, Unity Live Help displays the message "Your 5 minute grace period is over".  At this point the customer can decided to end the session, which means they are not charged, or they can continue the session, which becomes a paid session.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.